October: A Rufus-Retro-Wainwright-Spective: "Rufus Wainwright" Part 1

October: A Rufus-Retro-Wainwright-Spective: "Rufus Wainwright" Part 1

RufusWainwright

Friday, Oct 9, 2020 – 5:00 PM EDT

Featuring:

2 PM PT / 5 PM ET / 10 PM BST / 11 PM CEST “Rufus Wainwright” : From “Foolish Love” to “Baby” Most of these songs were written in Montreal. I tried to make it in New York but nobody was interested in my tapes and style I guess. Van Dyke Parks got my demos to Lenny Waronker and I was signed to Dreamworks. At that time they had one more artist secured and that was a gentleman called George Michael who my fans know from his amazing cover of “Going to a Town”. Three years later and over 50 songs demoed and a seven-figure production budget spent that I had to recoup obviously, I released my first record. What I think will be most interesting with these shows is how my voice has changed since I recorded these songs and to actually perform all of these in a stripped back fashion. My style has been called operatic-pop or baroque pop if they found a category for it at all and yes, I do like a big dramatic moment but I think true quality reveals itself with less and I think these songs will hold up in this chamber setting. **This show will be viewable until 11:59 PM PT on 12/31/2020**
HD
Global